1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer>
  • Kenya smallholder tea farmers earn Sh63.6 billion from tea exports

  • Forex 31.07.2015

  • Forex 30.07.2015

  • Forex 29.07.2015

  • Forex 28.07.2015


Parastatal chiefs top President Kenyatta's list of principal secretaries

PDF Print E-mail

Add this to your website

By Ben Kinyanjui


Engineer Joseph Njoroge was early last month at pains to explain why the Kenya Power and Lighting Company (KPLC) that he heads should be allowed to hike power charges in order to raise more money for investment.Eng Joseph Njoroge (left) confers with outgoing Energy PS Mr Patrick NyoikeEng Joseph Njoroge (left) confers with outgoing Energy PS Mr Patrick Nyoike

On the receiving end were the manufacturers who were are arguing that higher power tariffs come July 2013 would drive them out of business. Eng Njoroge could not understand but now he has no choice but to understand.

Eng Njoroge was among parastatal chiefs that President Kenyatta picked to head various departments in his government. He is now in charge of energy sector where he replaces Mr Patrick Nyoike who has held the position for the last decade.

The same fate awaits transport secretary Mr Muli Nduva who headed the underperforming railways transport sub-sector. He will now come face to face with Eng Michael Kamau (Transport and Infrastructure Cabinet secretary) who recently said Kenya can do without the railways if they don’t improve.

The Kenya Tea Board managing director Mrs Sicily Kariuki can now breathe a sigh of relief. Her job at the tea board was at risk following government decision to combine all parastatals in the agricultural sector into one.

The nominee for the agricultural docket will instead oversee that decision that she never supported. According to her, some sectors like tea that is the leading foreign exchange earner should not be lumped together with the rest.

Other parastatal boss picked is Mr Richard Lesiyampe (Environment and Natural Resources) who was heading the Kenyatta National Hospital, the largest referral hospital in the country.

The group was among the 26 secretaries picked from the public and private sector to head the 18 ministries in President Kenyatta government.

Former Provincial Administration PS Mr Mutea Iringo, Eng Karanja Kibicho (industrialisation) and Prof Micheni Ntiba (Fisheries) are the only officials retained from the former grand coalition government headed by retired President Mwai Kibaki and Prime Minister Raila Odinga.

Mr Mutea was nominated in the Interior department in the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government while Mr Kibicho and Ntiba move to Foreign Affairs and Fisheries respectively.

Other nominees are Ms Josephta Mukobe (Coordination) Mr John Konchella(Devolution) Mr Joseph Musuni Tiampati (Communications) Prof Colletta Suda, (Science and Technology), Ms Monica Juma has (Defence).

Also on the list are Mariamu El Maawy (Lands),Dr Wilson Songa (Industrialisation and Enterprise Development), Joseph Lopeyetum (Water), John Mosonik (Infrastructure), Dr Belio Kipsang (Education), Dr Kamau Thugge (Treasury), Ali Noor Ishmail and Dr Ibrahim Mohammed (Commerce and Tourism, Dr Khadija Kassachoon (Livestock), Mr Fred Sigor (Health), Mr Richard Ekai (Mining), Mr Patrick Omutia (Sports, Culture and Arts) and Mr Mwanamaka Amani (East African Community)

The names will now be forwarded to Parliament for vetting by various committees ahead of their formal appointment.



Like Us On Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Kenya Economy

I want to be an entrepreneur

Taibjee Consultants
For Patent, Trademark, Industrial Design, Customer Care training

EAC News
Read Comprehensive  Regional, Trade and Investment News on East Africa

Sponsored Ads

University of Nairobi